DRIEU LA ROCHELLE PIERRE 1893-1945)

Lot 47
Aller au lot
7 000 - 8 000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 17 550 EUR

DRIEU LA ROCHELLE PIERRE 1893-1945)


Mesure de la France, autograph manuscript. 1922, 92 in-4 pages in ink on paper mounted on tabs in a small in-4 volume bound in half vellum Bradel style, black morocco title piece.
Important working manuscript of this essay, a melancholy meditation on the future of France, Europe and the World in the aftermath of the Great War. Mesure de la France appeared in 1922 in the Cahiers verts collection directed by Daniel Halévy. The manuscript is complete, except for the first page, which has been replaced by a typewritten text.
Dated at the end "[October struck out] May 1922", it is written in black (or blue-black) ink, without margins, on the front of sheets of beautifully watermarked laid paper Joynson's Parchment (and a few ff. on the back of administrative paper from the Prefecture of the Seine Department. Direction de l'enseignement. Inspection). It has many erasures and corrections, with several passages crossed out, and has been the subject of major reworkings, as evidenced by changes in pagination and many passages cut out and moved.
Some passages are rubbed across the text with blue pencil: "preface", "bible", "chiefs", "war". It is divided into six chapters: I Crime and the Law (pp. 1-7). II Le Crime nous aliène les dieux et les hommes [primitive title crossed out: Les Crimes de la France] (p. 8-18). III The Troubled Spirit (p. 19-33). IV La France au milieu du monde (p. 34-59). V Les patries et l'aventure (p. 60-67). VI The citizen of the world is worried (p. 68-92).
Let us quote one of the deleted passages (p. 61): "The European homelands have come out of this war covered in blood, staggering, soiled in their entrails by the foul work of profit, but their faces are moving, emaciated, exasperated by sacrifice. This does not mean much: all human tendencies are pushed to extremes and refined by conscience. Our patriotic sensitivity is unheard of. It is sickly, made up of anxiety, of doubt, it collects the rest of the religious feeling which no longer finds its ancient way. It grows avaricious roots in every part of our soul. It loses itself in mania and ridicule. It is a mechanical devotion. It is a hallucination".
Drieu "invites the French to become aware of the diminished situation of their homeland in a Europe and a world that have changed since the era of French supremacy. ...] France has committed a crime, matured at the end of the 19th century, consummated at the beginning of the 20th century: it has no more children.
From 1814 to 1914 its demographic position in Europe went from first to fourth place. Moreover, the entry on the world stage of two giant empires, Russia and the United States, introduced a new global outlook that made it appear small between the "new nebulae". France must therefore give up a solitary shine. It has to merge with the new constellations forming in Europe: the era of the Alliances is open, even if that of the Patria is not closed. Through the practice of federation we may perhaps succeed in evoking the soul of Europe. ...] the author invites the French to meditate on the meaning of human effort. In committing its "crime" of not having had enough children for a century, France may have sinned only through an excess of civilization and demonstrated its sense of moderation. It has had the merit of revealing that we must prevent the pullunder of Europe. On the other hand, the exhausting religion of Production raises a great question "about the foundations of our civilization". The answer to this distressing question, which is the tragedy of the modern world, will not necessarily be found by the people who seem to weigh most by their masses" (Frédéric Grover).
Let us quote the astonishing conclusion, when we think of Drieu's fate: "It is not a question of revolutions, restorations, superficial political and social movements, but of something deeper, a Renaissance. While the twentieth century will see the present principle of civilization flourish and become exaggerated, it is necessary that, through an underground work that renews stone by stone the foundations of the Spirit, this century should be the beginning of an era in which the threatening automatism, whose manifestations have just been enumerated, will be overcome. We must renounce tomorrow and work for a day to come. If we believe that life is worth living and that its object is to produce a child, a statue, a closed poem. Unless one prefers to depart from the conventional centre of things, to walk to the edge, to explore death".
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

DRIEU LA ROCHELLE PIERRE 1893-1945)

Lot 47
Aller au lot
7 000 - 8 000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

DRIEU LA ROCHELLE PIERRE 1893-1945)


Mesure de la France, manuscrit autographe. 1922, 92 pages in-4 à l'encre sur papier montées sur onglets en un volume petit in-4 relié demi-vélin à la Bradel, pièce de titre de maroquin noir.
Important manuscrit de travail de cet essai, méditation mélancolique sur l'avenir de la France, de l'Europe et du Monde au lendemain de la Grande Guerre. Mesure de la France parut en 1922 dans la collection des Cahiers verts dirigée par Daniel Halévy. Le manuscrit est complet, à l'exception de la première page, remplacée par une dactylographie.
Daté en fin «[octobre biffé] mai 1922», il est écrit à l'encre noire (ou bleu-noir), sans marge, au recto de feuillets de beau papier vergé filigrané Joynson's Parchment (et quelques ff. au verso de papier administratif de la Préfecture du Département de la Seine. Direction de l'enseignement. Inspection). Il présente de très nombreuses ratures et corrections, avec plusieurs passages biffés, et a fait l'objet d'importants remaniements, comme en témoignent des changements de pagination et de nombreux passages découpés et déplacés.
Certains passages sont rubriqués au crayon bleu en travers du texte: «préface», «bible», «chefs», «guerre». Il est divisé en six chapitres: I Le Crime et la Loi (p. 1-7). II Le Crime nous aliène les dieux et les hommes [titre primitif biffé: Les Crimes de la France] (p. 8-18). III L'Esprit troublé (p. 19-33). IV La France au milieu du monde (p. 34-59). V Les patries et l'aventure (p. 60-67). VI Le citoyen du monde est inquiet (p. 68-92).
Citons un des passages supprimés (p. 61): «Le patries européennes sont sorties de cette guerre couvertes de sang, chancelantes, souillées dans leurs entrailles par l'immonde travail du profit, mais que leurs faces sont émouvantes, émaciées, exaspérées par les sacrifices. Cela ne signifie pas grand'chose: toutes les tendances humaines sont poussées à l'extrême et raffinées par la conscience. Notre sensibilité patriotique est inouïe. Elle est maladive, faite d'inquiétude, de doute, elle recueille le reste du sentiment religieux qui ne trouve plus sa voie ancienne. Elle pousse avaricieusement des racines dans toutes les parties de notre âme. Elle se perd dans la manie et le ridicule. C'est une dévotion machinale. C'est une hallucination».
Drieu «invite les Français à prendre conscience de la situation diminuée de leur patrie dans une Europe et un monde qui ont changé depuis l'ère de la suprématie française. [...] La France a commis un crime, mûri à la fin du XIXe siècle, consommé au début du XXe: elle n'a plus fait d'enfants.
De 1814 à 1914 sa position démographique en Europe est passée du premier rang au quatrième. De plus, l'entrée sur la scène mondiale de deux empires géants, Russie et États-Unis, introduit une nouvelle optique mondiale qui la fait paraître petite entre les “nouvelles nébuleuses”. La France doit donc renoncer à un éclat solitaire. Il lui faut s'amalgamer aux nouvelles constellations qui se forment en Europe: l'ère des Alliances est ouverte, même si celle des Patries n'est pas close. Par la pratique de la fédération on parviendra peut-être à évoquer l'âme de l'Europe. [...] l'auteur invite les Français à se recueillir dans une méditation sévère sur le sens de l'effort humain. En commettant son “crime”: n'avoir pas fait assez d'enfants pendant un siècle, la France n'a peut-être péché que par excès de civilisation et a démontré son sens de la mesure. Elle a eu le mérite de mettre au jour qu'il faut empêcher le pullulement de l'Europe. D'autre part, la religion épuisante de la Production soulève une grande interrogation “sur les fondements de notre civilisation”. La réponse à cette question angoissante qui fait le tragique du monde moderne ne sera pas nécessairement trouvée par le peuple qui semble peser le plus par ses masses» (Frédéric Grover).
Citons l'étonnante conclusion, quand on songe au destin de Drieu: «Il ne s'agit pas de Révolutions, de Restaurations, de superficiels mouvements politiques et sociaux, mais de quelque chose de plus profond, d'une Renaissance. Tandis que le XXe siècle verra s'épanouir et s'exagérer le principe présent de la civilisation, il faut que par un travail souterrain qui renouvelle pierre à pierre les fondements de l'Esprit ce siècle soit l'amorce d'une époque où l'automatisme menaçant, dont les manifestations viennent d'être énumérées, sera surmonté. Il faut renoncer à demain et travailler pour un jour à venir. Si l'on croit que la vie mérite d'être vécue et que son objet est de produire un enfant, une statue, un poème clos. À moins qu'on ne préfère s'écarter du centre conventionnel de choses, marcher vers les confins, explorer la mort».
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue