CALDER Alexander (1898-1976)

Lot 25
Aller au lot
Estimation :
4000 - 5000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 6 370EUR

CALDER Alexander (1898-1976)


Autograph letter with large watercolour DRAWING addressed to Marcel GIZARDIN. Paris December 13, 1926], 1 page in-4 in Indian ink and watercolor on paper, signed autograph envelope decorated with an original drawing.
Nice letter illustrated with an amusing pirate self-portrait, with its illustrated envelope.
The letter is addressed to the actor then antique dealer Marcel Gizardin (1891- 1976). Calder has recently arrived in France, and writes his letter with Indian ink and brush, in a French still approximate, to fix an appointment with his friend Gizardin: "If you won't be here tomorrow evening (Tuesday 6:30 am), I'll change my name to "gizardin" (it's an English word). And it's better that you change your name to "dodge" (also an English word)". The name Gizardin evokes for Calder an English verb from the vocabulary of piracy: "to gizzard" is to slit or gut. So he threatens to slit his friend's throat if he doesn't show up; Gizardin will have to dodge his blows.]
The letter is illustrated with an amusing self-portrait of Calder as a pirate, drawn in Indian ink, wash and watercolor: bare chest, golden earrings on the ears, red nose, black boots, a large sword in his hand, the pirate Calder threatens Gizardin who flees in fear. At the top of the stage, a flagged phonograph, and the French and American flags crossed.
The envelope is also illustrated: above Gizardin's name, Calder depicted a man carrying a standard, and stuck blue and red stamps in the flag to compose a French flag; another flag, in Indian ink, bears the word PNEU-MATIQUE. On the reverse side, Calder wrote his name and address: "Calder 22 r. Daguerre Paris"...
One can think that this letter is an invitation to a performance of the famous Circus of Calder, in his workshop at "22 rue Daguerre", address which appears on the back of the envelope.
Marcel Gizardin was first an actor (sometimes under the name of Girardin): he played in the films L'Enfant roi (Jean Kemm, 1923), L'
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

CALDER ALEXANDER (1898-1976)

Lot 25
Aller au lot
4 000 - 5 000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

CALDER ALEXANDER (1898-1976)


Lettre autographe avec grand DESSIN aquarellé adressée à Marcel GIZARDIN. [Paris 13 décembre 1926], 1 page in-4 à l'encre de Chine et aquarelle sur papier, enveloppe autographe signée ornée d'un dessin original.
Belle lettre illustrée d'un amusant autoportrait en pirate, avec son enveloppe illustrée.
La lettre est adressée à l'acteur puis antiquaire Marcel Gizardin (1891- 1976). Arrivé depuis peu en France, Calder écrit sa lettre à l'encre de Chine et au pinceau, dans un français encore approximatif, pour fixer rendez-vous à son ami Gizardin: «Si vous ne serez pas ici demain soir (Mardi 6h30), je changerai mon nom à «gizardin» (c'est un mot anglais). Et c'est meilleur que vous changerez votre nom à «dodge» (aussi un mot anglais)». [Le nom de Gizardin évoque pour Calder un verbe anglais du vocabulaire de la piraterie: «to gizzard», c'est égorger ou étriper. Il menace donc son ami de l'égorger s'il ne vient pas au rendez-vous; Gizardin devra esquiver («to dodge») ses coups.]
La lettre est illustrée d'un amusant autoportrait de Calder en pirate, dessiné à l'encre de Chine, lavis et aquarelle: torse nu, boucles dorées aux oreilles, nez rouge, bottes noires, un grand sabre à la main, le pirate Calder menace Gizardin qui s'enfuit effrayé. En haut de la scène, un phonographe à pavillon, et les drapeaux français et américain croisés.
L'enveloppe aussi est illustrée: au-dessus du nom de Gizardin, Calder a représenté un homme portant un étendard, et a collé dans le drapeau des timbres bleu et rouge pour composer un drapeau français; un autre drapeau, à l'encre de Chine, porte le mot PNEU-MATIQUE. Au verso, Calder a noté ses nom et adresse: «Calder 22 r. Daguerre Paris»...
On peut penser que cette lettre est une invitation à une représentation du fameux Cirque de Calder, dans son atelier du «22 rue Daguerre», adresse qui figure au verso de l'enveloppe.
Marcel Gizardin fut d'abord acteur (parfois sous le nom de Girardin): il joua dans les films L'Enfant roi (Jean Kemm, 1923), L'Aube de sang (Joseph Guarino, 1924), La Joueuse d'orgue (Charles Burguet, 1925) puis se lança dès 1926 dans le métier d'antiquaire (voir J.-Fr. Camus, «Marcel Gizardin, un Limousin à l'affiche», in Généalogie en Limousin, n° 71, décembre 2010).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue