JOSHUA REYNOLDS
PLYMPTON, 1723 -1792, RICHMOND

Lot 63
Aller au lot
Estimation :
30000 - 40000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 39 000EUR

JOSHUA REYNOLDS
PLYMPTON, 1723 -1792, RICHMOND


Portrait of Paul Henry Ourry
Oil on canvas 72 x 60 cm
Portrait of Paul Henry Ourry Oil on canvas, 28.3 x 23.6 in. "Prince of Portraitists"
This was the nickname of Joshua Reynolds, who during the 18th century established himself in England as one of the greatest, if not the greatest, portrait painter of his time.
Trained in the family library, he continued his apprenticeship in the studio of the painter Thomas Hudson (1701 -1779). Then, in order to perfect his training, he left England in 1749 to do his Grand Tour during which he discovered Italy. There, for a little over two years, he worked on copying frescoes and sculptures, immersing himself in the art of the great masters who had preceded him.
When he returned to London, he immediately specialized in portraiture with a new bourgeoisie that was particularly eager to assert its social status. Born with the Industrial Revolution, this new social class also evolves in a world bathed in the Spirit of Enlightenment, which values the individual, notably through self-representation. The painter also evolved within an intellectual and political nebula.
In 1768, he was one of the founders of the Royal Academy of London where he became a great theorist and where fifteen of his speeches were published. The institution also amplified the artistic emulation in London at the time, a phenomenon linked to the growing demand of the new bourgeoisie mentioned earlier.
Since the sixteenth century, ecclesiastical quarrels and the slowdown in religious commissions linked to them, the portrait had developed particularly strongly. The presence of Anton Van Dyck (1599 -1641) during the 17th century supported this phenomenon and helped to spread a Nordic influence on the genre.
Also a fierce rival of Thomas Gainsborough (1727 -1788), each sought to develop his own pictorial innovations in order to better distance himself from the other in pictorial modernity. Reynolds then chose to place his character
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

JOSHUA REYNOLDS
PLYMPTON, 1723 -1792, RICHMOND

Lot 63
Aller au lot
Estimation :
30000 - 40000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 39 000EUR

JOSHUA REYNOLDS
PLYMPTON, 1723 -1792, RICHMOND


Portrait de Paul Henry Ourry
Huile sur toile 72 x 60 cm
Portrait of Paul Henry Ourry Oil on canvas, 28,3 x 23,6 in. «Prince des portraitistes»
Ainsi était-ce le surnom de Joshua Reynolds qui au cours du XVIIIe siècle, s'impose en Angleterre comme l'un des plus grands, sinon le plus grand portraitiste de son temps.
Formé dans la bibliothèque familiale, il poursuit son apprentissage dans l'atelier du peintre Thomas Hudson (1701 -1779). Puis afin de parfaire sa formation, il quitte l'Angleterre en 1749 pour faire son Grand Tour au cours duquel il découvre l'Italie. Là, pendant un peu plus de deux ans, il s'emploie à copier fresques et sculptures, s'imprégnant de l'art des grands maîtres qui l'avaient précédé.
Lorsqu'il rentre à Londres, il se spécialise immédia­tement dans le portrait auprès d'une nouvelle bour­geoisie particulièrement demandeuse d'assoir son statut social. Née avec la Révolution industrielle, cette nouvelle classe sociale évolue également dans un monde baigné par l'Esprit des Lumières qui valorise l'individu, cela passant notamment par la représentation de soi. Le peintre évoluait par ailleurs également auprès d'une nébuleuse intellectuelle et politique.
En 1768, il fait partie des fondateurs de la Royal Academy de Londres au sein de laquelle il devient un grand théoricien et dont quinze de ses discours sont publiés. L'institution vint par ailleurs amplifier l'émulation artistique londonienne de l'époque, phénomène lié à la demande croissante de la nouvelle bourgeoisie évoquée plus tôt.
Depuis le XVIe siècle, les querelles ecclésiastiques et le ralentissement des commandes religieuses qui leur fut lié, le portrait s'était particulièrement développé. La présence d'Anton Van Dyck (1599 -1641) au cours du XVIIe siècle, appuya ce phé­nomène et contribua à diffuser une influence nordique sur le genre.
Également farouche rival de Thomas Gainsborough (1727 -1788), chacun s'appliqua à développer ses propres innovations pic
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue