FRANÇOIS LEMOYNE
PARIS, 1688 -1737

Lot 59
Aller au lot
Estimation :
8000 - 10000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 71 500EUR

FRANÇOIS LEMOYNE
PARIS, 1688 -1737


Study of a woman for the celling painting of the ceiling of the Salon d'Hercule in Versailles
Black stone and white chalk on blue paper 26 x 28 cm
Study of a woman for the celling painting of the Salon d'Hercule in Versailles Black and white chalk on blue paper 10,2 x 11 in.
PROVENANCE
Bears two collector's stamps: Philippe de Chennevières; Louis de Glatigny.
A wonderful discovery, this figure of a reclining woman that we are presenting for sale today is a preparatory sketch for the large ceiling of Hercules by François Lemoyne at Versailles (fig. 1).
An immense fresco, covering an area of nearly 314 square meters, it is today the largest Italian-style ceiling painting made in France. At the end of the project, the painter will be named First Painter to the King, succeeding Louis de Boullogne (1654 -1733)
Originally, the commission was placed by the Duke of Antin, then Director of the King's Buildings? He wanted to create a set of salons forming the king's ceremonial apartments. Although the theme was initially discussed and reflected on a glorification of the monarchy through the History of France, the subject was finally settled on "Hercules conquering vices and monsters, ascending to Olympus on a chariot drawn by the geniuses of Virtue".
When he received the commission, François Lemoyne thought of compartmentalizing his composition in order to choose an immense narrative painting, which would not be interrupted by any architectural element. In his preparatory drawings, he looks at Edmé Bouchardon (1698 -1762), who had himself observed Raphael (1483 -1520) in Italy.
Our elongated figure is thus a preparatory sketch for one of the 142 characters in the fresco (fig. 2). Within the composition, she takes her place in the triangular group of young women whose culminating point is Hebe brought to Hercules.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

FRANÇOIS LEMOYNE
PARIS, 1688 -1737

Lot 59
Aller au lot
Estimation :
8000 - 10000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 71 500EUR

FRANÇOIS LEMOYNE
PARIS, 1688 -1737


Etude de femme assise pour le plafond du Salon d'Hercule à Versailles
Pierre noire et craie blanche sur papier bleu 26 x 28 cm
Study of a woman for the celling painting of the Salon d'Hercule in Versailles Black and white chalk on blue paper 10,2 x 11 in.
PROVENANCE
Porte deux cachets de collectionneurs: Philippe de Chennevières; Louis de Glatigny.
Formidable découverte, cette figure de femme allongée que nous présentons aujourd'hui à la vente est une esquisse préparatoire au grand plafond d'Hercule réalisé par François Lemoyne à Versailles (fig. 1).
Fresque immense, couvrant une surface de près de 314 mètres carrés, elle est aujourd'hui la plus grande peinture plafonnante à l'italienne réalisée en France. A l'issue du chantier, le peintre sera nommé Premier peintre du roi, succédant à Louis de Boullogne (1654 -1733)
À l'origine, la commande est passée par le duc d'Antin, alors directeur des Bâtiments du roi ? Celui-ci souhaitait ainsi créer un ensemble de salons formant les appartements d'apparat du roi. Si le thème est discuté au début et réfléchi autour d'une glorification de la monarchie au travers de l'Histoire de France, le sujet est finalement arrêté sur «Hercule vainqueur des vices et des monstres, monte vers l'Olympe sur un char tiré par les génies de la Vertu».
Lorsqu'il reçoit la commande, François Lemoyne pense à compartimenter sa composition afin de choisir une immense peinture narrative, qui ne soit interrompue par aucun élément d'architecture. Dans ses dessins préparatoires, il regarde beau­coup Edmé Bouchardon (1698 -1762) qui avait lui-même observé Raphaël (1483 -1520) en Italie.
Notre figure allongée est ainsi une esquisse pré­paratoire à l'un des 142 personnages de la fresque (fig. 2). Au sein de la composition, elle prend place dans le groupe triangulaire de jeunes femmes dont le point culminant est Hébé amenée à Hercule.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue