1939 Citroën 15 SIX G Familiale

Lot 35
Aller au lot
30 000 - 50 000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 34 580 EUR

1939 Citroën 15 SIX G Familiale

Only 50 cars recorded today
Attractive period accessories
Perfect running order

Swiss registration papers
Chassis number: 682 168
Body number: EI 03 dated 3.5.39
Gearbox dated 18.07.39

Renowned as the ‘Queen of the Road', the 15 Six first of all had to prove itself; in Citroën's range at the time, it was intended to be the top-ofthe- line Traction Avant. It was introduced discreetly, in June 1938, with a sober appearance respecting the wishes of P.J. Boulanger, the head of Citroën, and intended to make it look like the 11.
The new model was therefore developed from the body of the 11, which was substantially strengthened, to which a six-cylinder engine was added, supported by longer forks and a specific subframe. A longer bonnet and wings which dropped away to the front were the only distinguishing features to be seen, apart from the small '15 Six' badges on the radiator grille and rear wing, which were supposed to inspire respect. The 15 Six was introduced first as a saloon and, as was often the case, got off to a difficult start, but it had plenty of potential, with impressive roadholding and a fabulous engine! Unusually, the engine turned over to the left, which explained the letter ‘G' (for ‘gauche', or left in French) in the name 15 Six G. Finally, the Michelin family allowed the 15 one luxury, where inside the car the upholstery in brown mohair velour was memorable as much for its luxurious appearance as its distinctive smell. To ensure its roadholding, Michelin adapted its new ‘Pilote' wheels with flat spokes to the dimensions required for the car, namely 185x400.
After the 15 saloon was presented at the Paris Motor Show in October 1938, the car appeared well developed and could now logically be offered in the eagerly awaited Limousine and six-window Familiale versions.In the same way, the engine and front suspension of the Six was grafted onto the body of the long-wheelbase 11. Produced until 1940, all the 15 Six G models (saloon, Limousine and Familiale) were finished in black with cream wheels. The 15 appeared to be vastly better finished and thought out than the 11; under the bonnet, for example, all the service items were fitted on the same side, while behind the wheel the handbrake was in easy reach of the driver and the improved gearchange was more pleasant to use. Driving a 15 makes quite an impression: the car is heavy and powerful, with colossal torque, but it can be handled in the same way that - for all its strong personality - an elephant obeys the orders of its driver. In its day, it may not have been the most powerful big saloon, but its exceptional handling made all the difference and established its reputation. The motoring press in 1938 described it as “sensational”.
Citroën offered two long-wheelbase versions, a ‘Familiale' with room for 8 or 9 passengers and fitted with folding jump seats, and a ‘Limousine' model with an exceptionally spacious rear compartment, which both also had mohair velour upholstery.
The handling of these long-wheelbase versions remained as effective as the saloon. Production of the 15 Six G only really got going at the start of 1939 for the saloon and in February for the Familiale and Limousine and was suspended in February 1940; built for just one year, the model is therefore very rare, with only 2300 cars built, of which about 50 are recorded as surviving today.
The 15 Six Familiale we are presenting at this sale is therefore one of these very rare models; it is fitted with an OLD (Olivier Lecanut Deschamps) roof rack and a set of Robergel wheels as accessories, which in no way detract from the overall style of the prestigious Citroën, quite the contrary, in fact. Inside, the car is fitted with a bench front seat, which was unusual on the 15 Familiale models, and the engine has an inlet manifold with two carburettors. It is a quick and surefooted car.
Its history as well as its rarity make this an interesting car. Purchased new by an industrialist in Lyon, it was requisitioned during the Occupation by the Lyon Kommandatur and then painted the regulation white. At the Liberation it was recovered by the Americans, who apparently dragged their feet somewhat before returning it to its original owner. Later, during the 1970s, it was acquired by Dr. René B., still in the Rhône, who in turn sold it to the collector of 15s, Nico Michon, in 2001. At the time, it was still in near-original condition, only the engine having been rebuilt. After another change of hands, it came to its current owner who undertook a comprehensive restoration over two years, from 2012- 2014. The bodywork was handled by Hubert Haberbusch and the upholstery by the Sellerie André in Geispolsheim, while the engine, radiator and electrical system (upgraded to 12 volts) were entrusted to Tilly in Alsace, with a stainless steel exhaust also fitted. The gearbox and Roger Williams transmission were restored by Aloïs Peter and a specially cut differential was installed
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

1939 Citroën 15 SIX G Familiale

Lot 35
30 000 - 50 000 €
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 34 580 €

1939 Citroën 15 SIX G Familiale

Seulement 50 exemplaires aujourd'hui récences
Beaux accessoires d'époque
Parfait fonctionnement

Titre de circulation suisse
N° série: 682 168
N° Coque: EI 03 42
Moteur: PD 00806 daté du 3.5.39
Boîte de vitesse du 18.07.39

Réputée ‘la Reine de la Route', la 15 six va d'abord devoir faire ses preuves; dans la production Citroën du moment elle doit représenter le haut de gamme des Traction Avant. Sa naissance est discrète, en juin 1938, d'allure très sobre selon le souhait de P.J. Boulanger le Patron de Citroën, il fallait qu'elle ressemble à la 11.
La nouvelle venue se développe donc sur une carrosserie de 11, très renforcée à laquelle on adjoint un moteur six cylindres maintenu par des broches allongées et un berceau spécifique; un capot allongé et des ailes plongeantes vers l'avant apparaissent comme les seuls traits distinctifs, si ce n'est le petit écusson '15 six' sur la calandre et sur l'aile arrière censés inciter au respect. La 15 six sort en berline dans un premier temps, et comme souvent les débuts seront difficiles, mais le potentiel est là, une tenue de route impressionnante et un moteur fabuleux! Ce moteur qui, de manière originale tourne vers la gauche, explique le vocable de 15 six G. Enfin les Michelin concèdent un luxe à la 15, c'est à l'intérieur, la sellerie en velours de mohair marron s'avère inoubliable tant par son aspect cossu que par ses fragrances. Pour la liaison au sol, Michelin adapte les nouvelles roues Pilote à rayons plats aux dimensions de la voiture, c'est-à-dire en 185x400.
Après la présentation de la berline 15 au Salon de l'Auto d'octobre 1938, la voiture semble bien au point et en toute logique prête à se décliner dans quelques versions attendues, une Limousine et une Familiale six glaces. On reprend ici de la même manière, des caisses de 11 à empattement long auxquelles on greffe le train avant et la mécanique six cylindres. Produites jusqu'en 1940 toutes les 15 six G, berlines, familiales, limousines, sortiront de couleur noire à roues ivoire. La 15 apparait infiniment mieux finie et pensée que les 11, ainsi sous le capot tous les éléments d'entretien sont disposés du même côté, au volant le chauffeur trouve son frein à main très accessible, quant au levier de vitesses son maniement plus développé que sur les 11 le rend plus agréable. La conduite d'une 15 laisse des impressions fortes, la voiture est lourde et puissante, le couple énorme, mais on la tient en main comme un gros animal qui malgré le tempérament obéit aux sollicitations de son cornac. A l'époque elle n'était peut-être pas la plus puissante des routières, mais ses atouts en comportement routier faisaient la différence, d'où sa réputation. Dans la presse automobile de 1938 elle est qualifiée de ‘sensationnelle'.
Quant aux versions à empattement long, Citroën en propose deux, une Familiale à 8 ou 9 places dotée de strapontins, et une limousine à l'espace arrière extrêmement spacieux, elles aussi garnies en velours de mohair. Les qualités routières de ces versions allongées restent aussi sûres que pour la berline. La production des 15 six G n'ayant réellement commencée que début 1939 pour la berline, en février pour la familiale et la limousine, elle sera interrompue en février 1940, cette brève année en fait donc une voiture très rare, produite à 2 300 unités dont une cinquantaine de survivantes sont aujourd'hui recensées.
La 15 six G Familiale que nous présentons ici est donc un de ces très rares modèles, elle est équipée d'une galerie OLD (Olivier Lecanut Deschamps) et d'un set de roues accessoires Robergel, qui n'altèrent en rien le style général de la statutaire Citroën, bien au contraire. L'équipement intérieur se compose d'une banquette à l'avant, une disposition peu courante sur les 15 familiales, et le moteur d'une pipe à deux carburateurs, cette voiture est rapide et sûre.
Intéressante par sa rareté, cette voiture l'est aussi par son histoire. Achetée neuve par un industriel lyonnais, elle se trouve réquisitionnée pendant l'Occupation pour la Kommandantur de Lyon, alors peinte en blanc réglementaire. A la Libération elle est récupérée par les Américains qui se feront, parait-il, un peu prier avant de la restituer à son premier propriétaire. Elle arrivera plus tard, dans les années 1970 entre les mains du Docteur René B. dans le Rhône toujours, celui-ci la vend au collectionneur de 15 Mr. Nico Michon en 2001, elle est encore à l'époque proche de son état d'origine, seul le moteur ayant été refait. Après une autre transaction, elle arrive chez son propriétaire actuel qui en entreprend une restauration approfondie étalée sur deux années entre 2012 et 2014. La carrosserie passe chez Hubert Haberbusch, la sellerie aux Ets André de Geispolsheim; le moteur, le radiateur et le circuit électrique passé en 12 volts sont confiés à la maison Tilly en Alsace, avec la pose d'une ligne d'échappement en inox. La boîte de vitesses et la transmission Roger Williams sont restaurées chez Aloïs Peter, dotée d'un nouveau différentiel spécialement taillé.
Seulement 50 exemplaires aujourd'hui récences.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue