SOLVYNS Frans Balthazar (1760-1824)

Lot 152
Got to lot
Estimation :
15000 - 20000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 53 077EUR
SOLVYNS Frans Balthazar (1760-1824)
Les Hindoûs, ou Description de leurs moeurs, coutumes et cérémonies
Paris, chez l'Auteur et chez H. Nicolle, de l'imprimerie de Mame frères, 1808-1812.
4 volumes large in-folio (560 x 415 mm), [2] ff. of which one is a dedication
-29 pp.73] explanatory pages-72 plates of which 12 double-page-[2] table pages; title-15 pp.-[72] pages-72 plates of which 12 double-page-[2] table pages; title-5-3 pages-[72] pages-72 plates of which 12 double-page-[1] table page; title-10 pages-[72] explanatory pages[72 explanatory pages-72 plates-[1] f. of table.
tan basane, boards decorated with a large Greek frieze inserted in triple gilt fillet frames with fleurons at the corners, large roulette of cold patterns, double gilt fillet and cold roulette, spine with titled nerves, tomé, dated at the end, and successively decorated with a Greek frieze, roulette and boxes of gilt fleurons, countersides decorated with a large frame of gilt and cold roulettes with gilt fleurons at the corners, marbled paper endpapers, gilt edges (binding signed J. Bohn. London)
Complete first edition of this superb picture gallery illustrating India at the end of the 18th century.
Each volume is preceded by a bilingual introduction, French-English, except the third one which is in French only. Also, each engraving is accompanied by a bilingual printed explanatory leaflet.
REMARKABLE AND CELEBRATED ILLUSTRATION ENGRAVED ON COPPER, PRINTED IN COLOUR AND HAND-PRINTED AT THE TIME: 288 PLATES, 36 OF WHICH ARE DOUBLE PAGE. In addition, 4 large coloured vignettes on the titles.
In this copy, the first volume is devoted to dignitaries, castes and religious ceremonies, the second to crafts and musical instruments, the third to boats and vessels, means of land transport, as well as different ways of smoking, and finally the fourth to crafts, flora and fauna, with portraits of different castes at the end of the volumes.
An Antwerp marine painter, Frans Balthazar Solvyns embarked for India to seek his fortune. He lived there for years, studying local customs and languages. In 1799, he published in Calcutta a collection of two hundred and fifty colour engravings under the title The Manners, Customs and
Dresses of the Hindoos.
The enterprise was a commercial failure, forcing Solvyns to leave India and settle in Paris. He set about republishing his plates, adding some forty new images, for this monumental edition in four large folio volumes published from 1808 to 1812. Each plate is accompanied by an explanatory text in French, together with its translation into English by Solvyns' wife.
RARE. A VERY FINE COPY WITH LARGE MARGINS, MAGNIFIED BY ITS ENGLISH NEOCLASSICAL BINDING. VERY FRESH COLOURS.
REFERENCES Colas II, n° 2767: "This book is rare and there are only a few complete copies"; Abbey II, 430; Brunet V, 432.
PROVENANCE Ruben David Sasson (1835-1905), director of the David Sassoon & Co. opium and cotton trade for eastern India and China (printed bookplate pasted on); Willis & Sotheran. London. Booksellers (pastedown label).
(Some corners dulled with slight tears, some old restorations, some accidents, used condition; numerous pits in the first volume not affecting the plates, slight pitting in the other volumes).
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

SOLVYNS Frans Balthazar (1760-1824)

Lot 152
Aller au lot
Estimation :
15000 - 20000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 53 077EUR
SOLVYNS Frans Balthazar (1760-1824)
Les Hindoûs, ou Description de leurs moeurs, coutumes et cérémonies
Paris, chez l'Auteur et chez H. Nicolle, de l'imprimerie de Mame frères, 1808-1812.
4 volumes grand in-folio (560 x 415 mm), [2] ff. dont un de dédicace
-29 pp.-[73] ff. explicatifs-72 planches dont 12 à double page-[2] ff. de table; titre-15 pp.-[72] ff.-72 planches dont 12 à double page-[2] ff. de table; titre-5-3 pp.-[72] ff.-72 planches dont 12 à double page-[1] f. de table; titre-10 pp.-[72] ff. explicatifs-72 planches-[1] f. de table.
Basane havane, plats ornés d'une large frise à la grecque insérée dans des encadrements de triple filets dorés avec caissons ornés de fleurons aux angles, large roulette de motifs à froid, double filet doré et roulette à froid, dos à nerfs titré, tomé, daté en queue, et orné successivement d'une frise à la grecque, roulette et caissons de fleurons dorés, contregardes ornées d'un large encadrement de roulettes dorées et à froid avec fleurons dorés aux angles, gardes de papier marbré, tranches dorées (reliure signée J. Bohn. London)
Édition originale complète de cette superbe galerie d'images illustrant l'Inde à la fin du XVIIIe siècle.
Chaque volume est précédé d'une introduction bilingue, français-anglais, sauf le troisième dont le texte n'est qu'en français. De même, chaque gravure est accompagnée d'un feuillet explicatif imprimé bilingue.
REMARQUABLE ET CÉLÈBRE ILLUSTRATION GRAVÉE SUR CUIVRE, IMPRIMÉE EN COULEURS ET REHAUSSÉE A LA MAIN À L'ÉPOQUE: 288 PLANCHES, DONT 36 A DOUBLE PAGE. Par ailleurs, 4 grandes vignettes coloriées sur les titres.
Dans cet exemplaire, le premier volume est consacré aux dignitaires, castes et cérémonies religieuses, le deuxième aux métiers et instruments de musique, le troisième aux embarcations et vaisseaux, aux moyens de transport terrestres, ainsi qu'aux différentes manières de fumer, et enfin le quatrième aux métiers, à la flore et à la faune, avec en fin de volumes des portraits de différentes castes.
Peintre de marines anversois, Frans Balthazar Solvyns s'embarqua pour l'Inde afin d'y chercher fortune. Il y vécut des années, étudiant coutumes et langues locales. En 1799, il publia à Calcutta un recueil de deux cent cinquante gravures en couleurs sous le titre The Manners, Customs and
Dresses of the Hindoos.
L'entreprise fut un échec commercial, poussant Solvyns à quitter l'Inde pour s'installer à Paris. Il s'employa à publier de nouveau ses planches, y ajoutant une quarantaine d'images nouvelles, pour cette monumentale édition en quatre volumes grand in-folio parue de 1808 à 1812. Chaque planche est accompagnée d'un texte explicatif en français, accompagné de sa traduction en anglais réalisée par la femme de Solvyns.
RARE. TRÈS BEL EXEMPLAIRE A GRANDES MARGES MAGNIFIÉ PAR SA RELIURE NÉOCLASSIQUE ANGLAISE. COLORIS D'UNE GRANDE FRAÎCHEUR.
RÉFÉRENCES Colas II, n° 2767: «Ce livre est rare et il n'existe que très peu d'exemplaires complets»; Abbey II, 430; Brunet V, 432.
PROVENANCE Ruben David Sasson (1835-1905), directeur de la David Sassoon & Co., commerce d'opium et de coton pour l'Inde orientale et la Chine (ex-libris imprimé contrecollé); Willis & Sotheran. London. Booksellers (étiquette contrecollée).
(Certains coins émoussés avec légers manques, quelques restaurations anciennes, quelques accidents, état d'usage; nombreuses piqures au 1er tome n'affectant pas les planches, légères piqures aux autres tomes).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue