BRAM VAN VELDE (1895-1981)

Lot 57
Got to lot
Estimation :
170000 - 200000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 220 520EUR
BRAM VAN VELDE (1895-1981)

Sans titre, 1977, Arles ou Grimaud (?)

Washed China ink and gouache on gelatined wipe lavis B by Canson, signed with brush BRAM v V lower center

120.5 x 149.5 cm

47 1/4 x 59 1/16 in.


Painter with a unique and unclassifiable style, Bram van Velde was born in 1895 in the Netherlands and died in 1981 in Grimaud. His life was marked by material and mental misery, wandering from a country to another and lack of artistic recognition. However, by his perseverance and the unique and radical character of his art, he will benefit at the end of his life from the recognition of the institutions and the public, which he had missed so much. A promising painter from his early years, he was supported by the Kramers, a family of collectors who owned an industrial painting factory where he worked. With their financial support and encouragement, Bram van Velde travelled to Germany from 1921 to 1924, where he discovered the German Expressionists, then the works of Matisse and Picasso in Paris between 1924 and 1931. He also met the writer and poet Samuel Beckett, who would remain his friend and tireless supporter. Beckett would also be one of the main exegetes and disseminators of the work of Bram van Velde.

From 1932 to 1936, Bram van Velde moved to Mallorca with his first wife, who died there accidentally. Fleeing the beginnings of the Spanish Civil War, he settled in the Paris region in 1936. He remained in France during the Occupation and did not paint during this period, which he lived very badly, leading a life of misery. Like the French abstract artists of his time, he was marked by the war and the vicissitudes of his time. He affirms: "I do not paint. I try to make visible the phenomena of our time.

In 1948, the gallery owner Aimé Maeght exhibited his work with his brother Geer in Paris and in New York under an agreement with the American gallery owner Samuel Kootz. The public will not be at the rendezvous and Maeght will separate from Bram van Velde and in 1952 Aimé Maeght will not renew their contract of collaboration. Spotted at the same time by the art critic Jacques Putman, who will become a faithful friend and supporter, Bram van Velde even moved in with him for a while. The two friends are buried side by side in the cemetery of Grimaud. He also travelled to Switzerland, where he finally received the recognition he had lacked until then, as proven by his first retrospective exhibition, held in Bern in 1958. In 1990, the Centre Pompidou paid homage to Bram Van Velde by designating him as one of the essential figures of abstract art, who knew how to radically question gestures and forms from the 1940s.


The work we are proposing today, dated 1977, coincides with a period in which Bram van Velde was gaining recognition in the art world with retrospectives organized in major galleries and museums in Europe. In fact, in 1973 he returned to the Maeght Gallery, thus crowning the arrival of a long-awaited success that would never be denied. It was also in the 1970s that Bram van Velde settled permanently in the South of France. Painted in Grimaud or in Arles, this painting shows many of Bram van Velde's characteristic features. Having abandoned cubism at the end of the 1940s, he continued to work with geometric forms, particularly the triangle. He rounded the angles and stretched the proportions, combining the structure and rigor of Nordic expressionism with the curve. The forms soften and arch, the paint slips and flows - Bram Van Velde says "to paint the impossibility of painting".

Gouache is the privileged medium of the artist's production, faster than oil, it favors the collapse of forms and colors, a way to express the refusal to fix them definitively. It is a medium close to the gesture, and the traces of the hand are inscribed more noticeably than in the thickness of the oil. Here, the palette is reduced to a gradation of black and gray, typical of the year 1977 from which he will paint only in three colors: black, red and mauve. His production is also reduced, he paints little and with little means, as if to symbolize the destitution of his life.

As shown by its exhibition history and its lithographs reproductions, this artwork is the synthesis of this period of the artist's life, an emblem of a long awaited success for Bram van Velde.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

BRAM VAN VELDE (1895-1981)

Lot 57
Aller au lot
Estimation :
170000 - 200000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 220 520EUR
BRAM VAN VELDE (1895-1981)

Sans titre, 1977, Arles ou Grimaud (?)

Lavis d'encre de Chine et de gouache sur chiffon gélatiné lavis B de Canson, signé au pinceau BRAM v V en bas au centre

Washed China ink and gouache on gelatined wipe lavis B by Canson, signed with brush BRAM v V lower center

120.5 x 149.5 cm

47 1/4 x 59 1/16 in.

Nous remercions Rainer Michael Mason pour son concours à la rédaction de cette fiche.


PROVENANCE

Atelier de l'artiste

Collection Jacques Putman, Paris

Collection Adrien Maeght, Paris

Acheté en 1989 à la Galerie Artcurial, Paris

Collection privée, Paris


EXPOSITIONS

Barcelone, 11 octobre - novembre 1978, Galeria Maeght, Bram van Velde · Retrospectiva 1908-1978, no 40

Dordrecht, 13 janvier - 25 février 1979, Dordrechts Museum, Bram van Velde · Retrospectieve 1907 -1978, no 43

Paris, 7 - 15 octobre 1989, FIAC, Artcurial, Bram van Velde, p. 19

Genève, 25 janvier - 7 avril 1996, Musée Rath (Musées d'art et d'histoire), Bram van Velde


Peintre au style unique et inclassable, Bram van Velde, naît en 1895 aux Pays-Bas et meurt en 1981 à Grimaud. Sa vie sera marquée par la misère matérielle et mentale, l’errance de pays en pays et le manque de reconnaissance artistique. Toutefois, par sa persévérance et le caractère unique et radical de son art, il bénéficiera à la fin de sa vie de la reconnaissance des institutions et du public, qui lui avaient tant manqué. Peintre prometteur dès ses jeunes années, il est soutenu par les Kramer, une famille de collectionneurs, propriétaire d’une manufacture de peinture industrielle dans laquelle il travaille. Avec leur soutien financier et leurs encouragements, Bram van Velde se rend en Allemagne de 1921 à 1924, il y découvre les expressionnistes allemands, puis les oeuvres de Matisse et Picasso à Paris entre 1924 et 1931. Il y rencontre aussi l’écrivain et poète Samuel Beckett, qui restera son ami et un soutien inlassable, Beckett sera aussi un des principaux exégètes et diffuseur de l’oeuvre de Bram van Velde.

De 1932 à 1936, Bram van Velde s’installe à Majorque avec sa première épouse qui y mourra accidentellement. Fuyant les débuts de la guerre civile espagnole, c’est en région parisienne qu’il s’établira en 1936. Il restera en France lors de l’Occupation et ne peindra plus durant cette période qu’il vit très mal en menant une vie de misère. Comme les artistes français abstraits de son époque, il est marqué par la guerre et les vicissitudes de son temps. Il affirme : « Je ne fais pas de la peinture. Je tâche de rendre visibles les phénomènes de notre époque ».

En 1948, le galeriste Aimé Maeght l’expose aux côtés de son frère Geer à Paris ainsi qu’à New-York dans le cadre d’un accord avec le galeriste américain Samuel Kootz. Le public ne sera pas au rendez-vous et Maeght se séparera de Bram van Velde et en 1952 Aimé Maeght ne renouvellera pas leur contrat de collaboration. Repéré au même moment par le critique d’art Jacques Putman, qui deviendra un fidèle ami et soutien, Bram van Velde s’installe même chez lui un temps. Les deux amis sont d’ailleurs inhumés côte à côte dans le cimetière de Grimaud. Il se rend également en Suisse, où il connaîtra enfin la reconnaissance qui lui avait manqué jusqu’ici, comme en témoigne sa première rétrospective, organisée à Berne en 1958. En 1990, le Centre Pompidou rend hommage à Bram Van Velde en le désignant comme l’une des figures essentielles de l’art abstrait qui a su remettre en question de manière radicale les gestes et les formes dès les années 1940.


L’oeuvre que nous proposons aujourd’hui, datée de 1977, coïncide avec une période durant laquelle Bram van Velde bénéficie d’une reconnaissance du milieu artistique avec des rétrospectives organisées dans les grandes galeries et les musées en Europe. En effet, en 1973 il réintègre la galerie Maeght couronnant ainsi l’arrivée d’un succès si longtemps attendu et qui ne se démentira plus jamais. C’est également dans les années 1970 que Bram van Velde s’installe définitivement dans le Sud de la France. Peint à Grimaud ou bien à Arles, ce tableau présente plusieurs traits caractéristiques de Bram van Velde. Ayant abandonné le cubisme à la fin des années 1940, il continue cependant à travailler avec les formes géométriques notamment le triangle. Il en arrondit les angles et étire les proportions, associant la structure et rigueur de l’expressionnisme nordique à la courbe. Les formes s’amollissent et se cambrent, la peinture glisse et coule – Bram Van Velde affirme « peindre l’impossibilité de peindre ».

La gouache est le médium privilégié de la production de l’artiste, plus rapide que l’huile elle favorise l’effondrement des formes et des couleurs, moyen d’exprimer le refus de les fixer définitivement. C’est un médium proche du geste, et les traces de la main s’y inscrivent plus sensiblement que dans l’épaisseur de l

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue