BONAPARTE Napoléon, dit le Prince Napoléon (1822-1891) fils de Jérôme Bonaparte, homme politique démocrate

Lot 231
Got to lot
Estimation :
700 - 800 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 856EUR
BONAPARTE Napoléon, dit le Prince Napoléon (1822-1891) fils de Jérôme Bonaparte, homme politique démocrate

21 L.A.S. "Napoleon", Prangins (except one) 1889-1890, to his sister Princess MATHILDE; on 24 pages in-8, most of them on the letterhead of the Villa de Prangins.
Most of the letters are related to a serious illness of his son
Louis (1864-1932), Mathilde's godson, of whom he gives news very regularly, according to the dispatches he receives from Moncalieri, where
Louis is cared for by his mother Princess Clotilde. Louis, who joined the Italian army, will leave her in 1890 to serve in Russia.
19 June 1889. He hopes that Louis will be able to join him in Prangins: "there is urgency for his position, above all because of the news that the newspapers have published that he is going to leave the Italian army, I regret it, it is too soon, not having yet made any approach to the King my brother-in-law" . 7 July: "I am thinking of going to Moncalieri to see for myself, I have written and am waiting for an answer, my position towards Clotilde does not allow me to arrive without warning. The important thing is that Louis gives up going on manoeuvres"... Moncalieri 11th July: "Fever and dyssentery, he's getting better without being recovered. I found him very changed [...]
I'm leaving tonight for home with a big detour to make to avoid France - damn exile!" Louis will join him soon, and they'll go to an alpine resort, and he's hoping Mathilde will come to Prangins... 31 July.
Louis seems to be recovered, but his father is worried about the arrangements he has to make: "He is often a bit indecisive and indolent" . September 13, he has to receive people "because of the elections and I know how much you don't like to hear about politics"... December 12, Louis is "lieutenant colonel! The Emperor has been very kind"... May 25, 1890. "I come to kiss you on the anniversary of your birth and write to you, unable to tell you, how much I love you"...
A copy of a letter from Mathilde (1843) is attached.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

BONAPARTE Napoléon, dit le Prince Napoléon (1822-1891) fils de Jérôme Bonaparte, homme politique démocrate

Lot 231
Aller au lot
Estimation :
700 - 800 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 856EUR
BONAPARTE Napoléon, dit le Prince Napoléon (1822-1891) fils de Jérôme Bonaparte, homme politique démocrate

21 L.A.S. «Napoléon», Prangins (sauf une) 1889-1890, à sa sœur la Princesse MATHILDE ; sur 24 pages in-8, la plupart à en-tête de la Villa de Prangins.
La plupart des lettres sont relatives à une grave maladie de son fils
Louis (1864-1932), filleul de Mathilde, dont il donne très régulièrement des nouvelles, d'après les dépêches qu'il reçoit de Moncalieri, où
Louis est soigné par sa mère la Princesse Clotilde. Louis, qui a intégré l'armée italienne, la quittera en 1890 pour passer au service de Russie.
19 juin 1889. Il espère que Louis pourra le rejoindre à Prangins : «il y a urgence pour sa position, à cause surtout de la nouvelle que les journaux ont publiée qu'il allait quitter l'armée italienne, je le regrette, c'est trop tôt n'ayant encore fait aucune démarche auprès du Roi mon beau-frère»... 7 juillet : «je pense à aller à Moncalieri voir par moimême, j'ai écrit et attends réponse, ma position vis-à-vis de Clotilde ne me permettant d'arriver sans prévenir. L'important c'est que Louis renonce à aller aux manœuvres»... Moncalieri 11 juillet : «Fièvre et dyssenterie, il va mieux sans être remis. Je l'ai trouvé très changé [...]
Je repars ce soir pour chez moi ayant un grand détour à faire pour éviter la France - maudit exil !» Louis le rejoindra bientôt, et ils iront dans une station alpestre ; il espère que Mathilde viendra à Prangins... 31 juillet.
Louis semble remis, mais son père s'inquiète des arrangements qu'il doit prendre : «Il est souvent un peu indécis et indolent»... 13 septembre, il doit recevoir du monde «à cause des élections et je sais combien tu aimes peu entendre parler politique»... 12 décembre, Louis est «lieutenant colonel ! L'Empereur a été bien aimable»... 25 mai 1890. «Je viens t'embrasser pour l'anniversaire de ta naissance et t'écris, ne pouvant te le dire, combien je t'aime»...
On joint la copie d'une lettre de Mathilde (1843)
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue