ROPS Félicien (1833-1898)

Lot 43
Aller au lot
Estimation :
5000 - 7000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 19 500EUR

ROPS Félicien (1833-1898)


L.A.S. "Fély" with 9 DRAWINGS, Thozée Jeudi [circa 1863 ?, to his friend Émile LECLERCQ]; 12 pages in8 to his number.


Superb and long letter from a Rops who was ill with love, illustrated with nine pencil drawings and blurred.


At the head of the letter, he drew himself as a hunter, sitting under a tree, rifle on his shoulder, looking at the landscape, his two dogs at his feet, a hare and a heron fleeing to the side. He comes to chat with his friend, letting himself be guided by "our colourful patron saint of the Holy Fantasy. - It is ten o'clock in the evening. I am alone in the large workshop that looks like an old church [...] Tonight my old & melancholic Thozée has infinite charms for me. - At the time of writing, she is marrying the fisherman Zephoris [Adolphe Adam's opera If I Were King], in a fantastic landscape, under the fire of Bengal flames... I'm not here!" He resisted the temptation to go to the performance in Namur: "If you only knew how much courage it took for me to tell Pierre this afternoon not to harness!" In the margin, he drew his valet Pierre, holding his chin between his thumb and forefinger, expressing amazement and incomprehension. No doubt Rops, in love with the female performer, is trying not to give in to his passion: "No, poor Fély, [...] you won't go at all, - the roses are cut. And now his blond head is popping out of the darkened depths of the workshop! Yes, my dear old man, here I am, - and I've been at it for three months! [...] It was written!


Do you ever know why you love a woman? [...]


When you think that you are three million fools who have been groping around in the human body for ten centuries & that you haven't yet managed to cure a dark-haired man of a blonde woman!"... And he draws three doctors examining a jar labeled "affection of the heart" and containing a heart pierced by an arrow and surrounded by a garland of flowers, behind which is hidden a love. He begs his friend to become a specialist in "affections of the heart". - I will be your first cure", because his case is desperate: "It's serious! And when it is a woman who has the eyes color of Spring & the lips of the Diana of


Capitol, - it is even more serious!" . He will end up hating the race of musicians, who "make the guts of quadrupeds creak & cut down the great trees of the good Lord to make pianos. - It's true, painters & poets will be eternally victims of musicians [...]. The sound, that voice of the soul (when it is not a voice from the nose), moves them stupidly, - naively - and they are tempted to cry at the moon like the melancholy poodles who hear the cornet à pistons.


When a young, pretty, loved woman sings, I fall in adoration"...


And he draws musical loves that cover with a large sheet of music the easel and the painter's palette on which a lonely love weeps.


Why go back to Namur? "to find myself stupid by bothering a woman with a love she doesn't care about?"... He was born too late: "Our narrow & silly century weighs on my shoulders like a garment that doesn't fit me. Crazy, at the same time touching & grotesque I walk in this world of 4 percent, with a medieval costume with proud arabesques, in the crowd of the black clothes of Positivism. I make the notaries laugh & I inspire gentle cheerfulness in the bailiffs; - serious people show me to their children as a terrible example of the training of the Arts!" And for the academics, "the palmibêtes", he is not a serious man. He could have looked like anyone, the two types he draws then: two respectable bourgeois "Being flat as a pavement & stupid as a number, loving easy girls, in double part, - estimating good deeds that pay more than the beautiful deeds one admires; - preferring promissory notes to soft ones; instead, I am walking alive in RuyBlas' dream: - I don't want to understand that we are no longer in the clouds, but "in oils" or "in sugars"; - I am still affected by the soft madness you know : [...] builder of castles in all Spain, stargazer in the midday sun, stormmaker in the drops of water; - creating for me the childlike happiness of the bird that sings, of the insect that flies, of the passing cloud, of the grey rock under the blue sky. - I remain in ecstasy in front of a lock of blond hair frizzing on a round nape of the neck" . This did not happen to Mr Prime Borniaux, "first alderman of the commune of Mettet", whom he drew from behind, walking in the countryside, hooves on his feet and umbrella in his hand; he deplored Rops' obstinacy in devoting himself to painting instead of making the most of the land on his estate at Thozée. But Rops easily took comfort in the abolition of seigneurial rights, seeing the local "rosiers" of which he drew three specimens...

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

ROPS Félicien (1833-1898)

Lot 43
Aller au lot
Estimation :
5000 - 7000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 19 500EUR
ROPS Félicien (1833-1898)


L.A.S. «Fély» avec 9 DESSINS, Thozée Jeudi [vers 1863 ?, à son ami Émile LECLERCQ] ; 12 pages in8 à son chiffre.


Superbe et longue lettre d'un Rops malade d'amour, illustrée de neuf dessins à la plume et estompe.


En tête de lettre, il s'est dessiné en chasseur, assis sous un arbre, fusil à l'épaule, regardant le paysage, ses deux chiens à ses pieds, un lièvre et un héron s'enfuyant sur le côté. Il vient bavarder avec son ami, se laissant guider par «notre bariolée patronne la Sainte Fantaisie. - Il est dix heures du soir. Je suis seul dans le grand atelier qui ressemble à une vieille église [...] Ce soir mon vieux & mélancolique Thozée a pour moi des charmes infinis. - Au moment où je t'écris Elle épouse le pêcheur Zéphoris [l'opéra Si j'étais Roi d'Adolphe Adam], dans un paysage fantastique, sous le feu des flammes de Bengale & je ne suis pas là !» Il a résisté à la tentation de se rendre à la représentation à Namur : «Si tu savais ce qu'il m'a fallu de courage pour dire à Pierre cet après-midi de ne pas atteler !». Dans la marge, il dessine son valet Pierre, se tenant le menton entre le pouce et l'index, exprimant la stupéfaction et l'incompréhension. Sans doute Rops, amoureux de l'interprète féminine, tente-t-il de ne plus céder à sa passion : «Non, pauvre Fély, [...] tu n'iras plus du tout, -les rosiers sont coupés. Et voilà maintenant sa tête blonde qui jaillit des fonds sombres de l'atelier ! Oui mon cher vieux, j'en suis là, - et cela depuis trois mois ! [...] C'était écrit !


Est-ce qu'on sait jamais du reste pourquoi on aime une femme ? [...]


Quand on songe que vous êtes trois millions d'imbéciles qui tripotaillez dans le corps humain depuis dix siècles & que vous n'êtes pas encore arrivé à guérir un homme brun d'une femme blonde !»... Et il dessine trois médecins examinant un bocal étiqueté «affection du cœur» et contenant un cœur percé d'une flèche et entouré d'une guirlande de fleurs, derrière lequel se cache un amour. Il prie son ami de devenir spécialiste «des “affections du cœur”. - Je serai ta première cure», car son cas est désespéré : «C'est grave ! Et lorsqu'il s'agit d'une femme qui a les yeux couleur du Printemps & les lèvres de la Diane du


Capitole, - c'est encore plus grave !»... Il va finir par haïr la race des musiciens, qui «font grincer les boyaux des quadrupèdes & coupent les grands arbres du bon Dieu pour en faire des pianos. - C'est vrai, les peintres & les poètes seront éternellement victimes des musiciens [...]. Le son, cette voix de l'âme (quand ce n'est pas une voix du nez), les émeut bêtement, -naïvement et ils sont tentés de pleurer à la lune comme les caniches mélancoliques qui entendent le cornet à pistons.


Quand une femme jeune, jolie, aimée, chante, je tombe en adoration»...


Et il dessine des amours musiciens qui recouvrent d'une grande feuille de musique le chevalet et la palette du peintre sur laquelle pleure un amour solitaire.


Pourquoi retourner à Namur ? «pour me trouver stupide en importunant une femme d'un amour dont elle n'a que faire ?»... Il est né trop tard : «Notre siècle étroit & bête me pèse sur les épaules comme un vêtement qui n'est pas à ma taille. Fou, à la fois touchant & grotesque je me promène en ce monde de 4 pour cent, avec un costume moyen-âge aux fières arabesques, dans la foule des habits noirs du Positivisme. Je fais rire les notaires & j'inspire de douces gaietés aux huissiers ; - les gens graves me montrent à leurs enfants comme un terrible exemple de l'entraînement des Arts !» Et pour les académiciens, «les palmibêtes», il n'est pas un homme sérieux. Il aurait pu ressembler à n'importe qui, aux deux types qu'il dessine alors : deux bourgeois respectables... «Être plat comme un trottoir & bête comme un chiffre, aimer les filles faciles, en partie double, - estimer les bonnes actions qui rapportent plus que les belles actions qu'on admire ; - préférer les billets à ordre aux billets doux ; au lieu de cela, je marche vivant dans le rêve de RuyBlas : - Je ne veux pas comprendre que l'on n'est plus dans les nuages, mais “dans les huiles” ou “dans les sucres” ; - je reste atteint des folies douces que tu connais : [...] bâtisseur de châteaux dans toutes les Espagnes, regardeur d'étoiles en plein midi, faiseur de tempêtes dans les gouttes d'eau ; - me créant des bonheurs d'enfant de l'oiseau qui chante, de l'insecte qui vole, du nuage qui passe, du rocher gris sous le ciel bleu. - Je reste en extase devant une mêche de cheveux blonds frisottant sur une nuque ronde»... Cela n'arrivera pas à M. Prime Borniaux, «premier échevin de la commune de Mettet», qu'il dessine de dos, se promenant dans la campagne, sabots aux pieds et parapluie à la main ; il déplore l'obstination de Rops à se consacrer à la peinture au lieu de faire valoir les terres de son domaine de Th

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue