NADAR Félix (1820-1910)

Lot 33
Got to lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1500 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 1 300EUR
NADAR Félix (1820-1910)

2 L.A.S. "Nadar", [1872?] and n.d., to Philippe GILLE; 2 and 3 pages in-8, the 1st with its number N and motto Quand même !, the 2nd with commercial letterhead
Photograph Nadar (enclosed envelope of April 13, 1899).
Gille offering to defend him, Nadar gives him essential information about his work. He left his workshop on the Boulevard des Capucines for a "private hotel" on Rue d'Anjou Honoré, where he was able to set up "in marvellous conditions precious workshops for the most difficult and delicate of our professional tasks. It is true to say that we obtain really extraordinary results and we cannot be more precious to families by making from a very small, bad, yellowed, erased print of an old daguerreotype, portraits of all sizes, even nature, absolutely perfect in black and colour".
He recommends him to insist "on this enlarging workshop, unique in the world (it is true) and whose results as an intimate resemblance are above all that can be seen". He cites several of his "large portraits made without the models, by a kind of genius of guessing", including that of George Sand. He insists on the superiority of his proofs in these new workshops compared to the Boulevard des Capucines .
Tuesday 187 [2?]. Nadar begs Gille to help him conclude a deal with a "restif" [it is the sale of the collection of his photographs to Villemessant, director of the Figaro]. The situation becomes all the more serious as he leaves for a week in Normandy, just before his cure in Aix and his return through Switzerland to give lectures. He would like to be able to leave with peace of mind, and be sure to renew his "lease of health" in Aix.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

NADAR Félix (1820-1910)

Lot 33
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1500 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 1 300EUR
NADAR Félix (1820-1910)

2 L.A.S. «Nadar», [1872 ?] et s.d., à Philippe GILLE ; 2 et 3 pages in-8, la 1ère à son chiffre N et devise Quand même !, la 2e à en-tête commercial
Photographie Nadar (enveloppe jointe du 13 avril 1899).
Gille proposant de le défendre, Nadar lui apporte des renseignements essentiels sur ses travaux. Il a quitté son atelier du Boulevard des Capucines pour un «hôtel privé» rue d'Anjou Honoré, où il a pu installer «dans de merveilleuses conditions des ateliers précieux pour la plus difficile et la plus délicate de nos besognes professionnelles. Il est vrai de dire que nous obtenons des résultats réellement extraordinaires et on ne peut plus précieux aux familles en faisant d'une toute petite épreuve mauvaise, jaunie, effacée, d'un vieux daguerréotype, des portraits de toutes grandeurs même nature absolument parfaits en noir et en couleur».
Il lui recommande d'insister «sur cet atelier d'agrandissement, unique au monde (c'est vrai) et dont les résultats comme ressemblance intime sont au dessus de tout ce qu'on peut voir». Il cite plusieurs de ses «grands portraits faits sans les modèles, par une sorte de génie de devination», dont celui de George Sand. Il insiste sur la supériorité de ses épreuves dans ces nouveaux ateliers par rapport au boulevard des Capucines...
Mardi 187[2 ?]. Nadar supplie Gille de l'aider à conclure une affaire avec un «rétif» [il s'agit de la vente de la collection de ses photographies à Villemessant, directeur du Figaro]. La situation devient d'autant plus grave qu'il part une semaine en Normandie, juste avant sa cure à Aix et son retour par la Suisse pour donner des conférences. Il aimerait pouvoir partir l'esprit tranquille, et être sûr de renouveler son «bail de santé» à Aix
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue