MANET Edouard (1832-1883)

Lot 22
Aller au lot
Estimation :
3000 - 4000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 4 160EUR

MANET Edouard (1832-1883)


L.A.S. "Edouard Manet", "aboard the Hanover and Guadeloupe" 15-22 December [1848], to HIS MOTHER; 7 pages in-8 on fine paper.
Beautiful and long letter, written at the age of sixteen, when he embarked on the training ship Hanover and Guadeloupe.
["The long voyage he made from Le Havre to Rio de Janeiro was not without influence on the training of his genius and was to inspire him later on to become one of the most beautiful marines of his time" (G. Huisman).].
Seasickness and bad weather delayed his letter. Manet then recounts his departure from Le Havre at the sound of the cannons; they "bid a noisy farewell to the people of Le Havre gathered in crowds on the jetty [...] The weather was magnificent, the sea very beautiful". Since that evening they have not seen any land. In the days that followed, "I was horribly sick with seasickness.
The weather then became dreadful; you can't imagine the sea when you haven't seen it stirred up as we have seen it, you don't get an idea of those mountains of water that surround you [...] what a monotonous life this seafaring life, always the sky and the water, always the same thing, it's stupid"... December 16th. The good weather has returned... "they're making us climb the ropes". They make them wash the beds, the post that was "an infection.
[...] I'm in the jiggers on the foremast [...] we're vigorously working on it".
December 17. Bad weather... "All these people are really amazing, they are always happy, always cheerful, despite the harshness of the job"... They drank champagne at dinner and toasted the commander, who is nice... The first mate "is a real brute, a sea wolf who holds you stiff and pushes you around nicely". In the evening after dinner, they sing "des cœurs des chansonnettes" on the poop deck...
December 18. Awful weather. They are on the Bay of Biscay.
The commander is having fun killing seabirds.
December 19th. Wonderful weather... "We're starting our classes today, it's going pretty well". They will soon arrive in Madeira where a rowboat will carry and pick up the mail... "perhaps we will then learn the name of our president; you may be quite agitated at the moment in Paris, as long as we don't have civil war, it's so awful"... The doctor put lines out to catch the tuna, which we bait with "a bottle well closed with a red cork"...
December 20. Bad weather. The bread is rationed, and Manet, who doesn't like sea biscuits... "for me I make canned bread, I chew it wherever I can find it and hide it in my hut"...
December 21st. Rain... "We didn't have math class this morning. The teacher is still seasick"... He gives his daily schedule... "at 6:00 a.m. ½. jerks down, everyone gets on the dune and we pass the officer of the watch inspection. at 8:00 a.m. first breakfast at 8:00 a.m. ½ study until 10:00 a.m. minus watch until 10:00 a.m. recess at 10:00 a.m. Port side goes to math class, (I'm on this side), at 11 a.m. ½ lunch at 11 a.m. ½ lunch, at 1 a.m. literature class for babordais, at 2.5 a.m. recess [...] at 3 a.m. English class for all students at 4 p.m. dinner; until 7 a.m. recess then study until 9 a.m. and 9 a.m. wank. Today Thursday we had a practice lesson in spite of the bad weather and spent the rest of the day in our station smoking, playing dominoes at the checkers etc."....
December 22nd. A building in sight incites him to close his letter. He hugs family and friends.
Letters from his youth. 1848-1849. Trip to Rio (Paris, 1928).
PROVENANCE Collection Daniel sicKLes (27-28 February 1979, n° 250)
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

MANET Edouard (1832-1883)

Lot 22
Aller au lot
Estimation :
3000 - 4000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 4 160EUR
MANET Edouard (1832-1883)

L.A.S. «Edouard Manet», «à bord du Hanovre et Guadeloupe» 15-22 décembre [1848], à SA MÈRE ; 7 pages in-8 sur papier fin.
Belle et longue lettre, écrite à l'âge de seize ans, alors qu'il s'est embarqué sur le vaisseau-école Hanovre et Guadeloupe.
[«Le long voyage qu'il fit du Havre à Rio de Janeiro ne fut pas sans influence sur la formation de son génie et devait lui inspirer plus tard des marines qui sont parmi les plus belles de son temps» (G. Huisman).]
Le mal de mer et le mauvais temps ont retardé sa lettre. Manet raconte alors son départ du Havre au bruit des canons ; ils ont «fait de bruyants adieux aux Havrais réunis en foule sur la jettée [...] Le temps était magnifique la mer très belle». Depuis ce soir-là ils n'ont plus vu de terre. Les jours suivants, «j'ai été horriblement malade du mal de mer.
Le temps est alors devenu affreux ; on ne peut pas se figurer la mer quand on ne l'a pas vue agitée comme nous l'avons vue, on ne se fait pas une idée de ces montagnes d'eaux qui vous entourent [...] quelle vie monotone que cette vie de marin, toujours le ciel et l'eau, toujours la même chose, c'est stupide»... 16 décembre. Le beau temps est revenu... «on nous fait monter dans les cordages». On leur fait laver les lits, le poste qui était «une infection.
[...] je suis dans les gabiers du mât de misaine [...] nous nous mettons vigoureusement à la maneuvre».
17 décembre. Mauvais temps... «Tous ces gens là sont vraiment étonnants ils sont toujours contents, toujours gais, malgré la dureté du métier»... Ils ont bu du champagne au dîner et trinqué avec le commandant, qui est gentil... Le capitaine en second «est un vrai brutal, un loup de mer qui vous tient raide et vous bouscule joliment bien». Le soir après dîner, ils chantent sur la dunette «des cœurs des chansonnettes»...
18 décembre. Temps affreux. Ils sont à la hauteur du golfe de Gascogne.
Le commandant s'amuse à tuer des oiseaux de mer.
19 décembre. Temps magnifique... «nous commençons nos classes aujhourdhui, cela va assez bien». Ils arriveront bientôt à Madère où une chaloupe portera et prendra le courrier... «peut être apprendrons nous alors le nom de notre président ; vous etes peut etre bien agités en ce moment à Paris, pourvu que nous n'ayons pas la guerre civile, c'est si affreux»... Le docteur a mis des lignes pour pêcher le thon, qu'on appâte avec «une bouteille bien fermée d'un bouchon rouge»...
20 décembre. Mauvais temps. Le pain est rationné, et Manet, apprécie peu le biscuit de mer... «pour moi je fais des conserves de pain j'en chippe partout où j'en peux trouver et je le cache dans ma case»...
21 décembre. Pluie... «Nous n'avons pas eu classe de mathématiques ce matin. Le professeur est encore malade du mal de mer»... Il donne son emploi du temps quotidien... «à 6 h ½. branle bas, tout le monde monte sur la dunette et l'on passe l'inspection de l'officier de quart. à 8 heures 1er déjeuner à 8 h. ½ étude jusqu'à 10 h. moins le quart jusqu'à dix heures récréation à 10 h. La bordée de babord va à la classe de mathematique, (je suis de cette bordée), à 11 heure ½ on déjeune, à 1 h. classe de litterature pour les babordais, à 2 heures et demie récréation [...] à 3 heure classe d'anglais pour tous les élèves à 4 h diner ; jusqu'à sept heures récréation puis etude jusqu'à 9 heures et à 9 heures branlebas. Aujhourdhui jeudi nous avons eu une leçon de pratique malgré le mauvais temps et avons passé le reste de la journée dans notre poste à fumer à jouer aux dominos aux dames etc.»...
22 décembre. Un bâtiment en vue l'incite à clore sa lettre. Il embrasse famille et amis.
Lettres de jeunesse. 1848-1849. Voyage à Rio (Paris, 1928).
PROVENANCE Collection Daniel sicKLes (27-28 février 1979, n° 250)
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue