PIERRE KLOSSOWSKI (1905-2001)

Lot 36
Got to lot
Estimation :
90000 - 100000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 117 000EUR
PIERRE KLOSSOWSKI (1905-2001)

André Gide, 1955

Graphite on paper

100 x 71 cm

39 3/8 x 27 7/8 in.


This work is listed on the artist's official website: www.pierre-klossowski.fr


PROVENANCE

Oreste Del Buono, Milan Various provenancesPrivate collection, Italy


EXHIBITIONS

1955, June 29, Paris, Cour de Rohan, Pierre Klossowski 1968, July 6-August 1, Geneva, Aurora galerie d'art moderne, OEuvres de Pierre Klossowski et Roman Cieslewicz 1981, June 20-August 2, Bern, Kunsthalle, Pierre Klossowki, Simulacra, n° 7, repr. 1990, 3 October-2 December, Paris, Fondation National des Arts Graphiques et Plastiques; 14 December-27 January 1991, Marseille, Musée Cantini; 5 March-8 May, Madrid, Centro de Arte Reina Sofia; 10 July-12 September, Valencia, IVAM, La Sala parpallo; 7 October-9 December, Bristol, Arnolfini Gallery, Pierre Klossowki / Retrospective 1950-1990, in cat exp, repr. p. 63 & 204 2006, 20 September-19 November, London, Whitechapel Gallery; 21 December-18 March 2007, Cologne, Museum Lduwig; 4 April-4 June 2007, Paris, Centre Pompidou, Pierre Klossowski, Tableaux vivants, in cat exp.


BIBLIOGRAPHY

Jacques Henric, Pierre Klossowski, Adam Biro, Paris, 1989, repr. p.83 & p.139

Maurice Blanchot, Pierre Klossowski, La décadence du Nu, Black Dog Publishing Limited, London, 2002, repr. p. 43


Pierre Klossowski

An unclassifiable artist and author, Pierre Klossowski (1905-2001) produced a double work between literature and drawing. Born in Paris in 1905 into an artistic family, both his parents were painters. His mother was a student of Bonnard and his brother was the painter Balthus. Klossowski drew very early and grew up in contact with the neo-impressionists. He was frequently visited by Derain, Maurice Denis, and the collector Ambroise Vollard. From childhood he showed a particular interest in literature, philosophy, theology and psychoanalysis. His attention was drawn to authors who were controversial, sulphurous and subject to criticism. He wrote numerous essays on Sade and studied Nietzsche. His interest in a certain kind of literature led him, as an artist, to break away from morality.

It was the poet Rilke who recommended Pierre Klossowski to André Gide and he became his assistant. André Gide, a resolutely modern writer, soon gave up giving him this task. He considered him "too artistic" and enrolled him in philosophy. Gide took on the role of tutor in Klossowski's life and they had a long-standing epistolary relationship.

After several controversial appearances and publications, in 1950 he drew his first compositions and portraits in graphite. The figures were immaterial at the time, laid down on yellowed paper like old grimoires. Klossowski gradually gave them a human-sized proportion, wanting the viewer to be on a level with his subjects. The desired effect is a play of mirrors, inducing a doubt that is fundamental for the artist.

We find in his first drawings a mannerist grace due to the elongation of the forms. The Portrait of André Gide is in this vein, where the hands are elongated to represent the model's status as a writer. Here André Gide is annotating two open books in the foreground: the Aeneid and Virgil's Bucolics. The Aeneid, which he translated into French, followed him throughout his intellectual career and was one of his bedside books until his death. André Gide, with his pen in the air, is interrupted in his work by a small flute player placed behind him. The symbolism of this scene remains a secret for the general public, but an obvious one for the initiated, as these two characters exchange a look that is heavy with secrets and innuendo.

The year 1956 marked his first exhibition, which took place at the Cour de Rohan, at the instigation of Bataille, Masson, and Giacometti. The portrait of Gide was exhibited there and André Breton said that it was "truer than life".

From the 1970s, André Gide frequented the philosophers Gilles Deleuze, Michel Foucault and Jacques Derrida. He became part of

He was part of the philosophical thought of his time, which in retrospect will be called French theory. Indifferent to the aesthetic debates taking place in France in the 1960s and 1970s between abstract, figurative and new informal art, he began to reflect on the notion of simulacra.

"Where is the fiction, where is the real? What is fiction, what is reality? There is osmosis between the two. »

- Pierre Klossowski during his interview with Rémy Zaugg, 1980-1981


His drawing activity was enriched as he replaced graphite with coloured pencil. The colouring is done in transparency, thanks to highlights that preserve the immaterial aspect of his works.

AC2021

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

PIERRE KLOSSOWSKI (1905-2001)

Lot 36
Aller au lot
Estimation :
90000 - 100000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 117 000EUR
PIERRE KLOSSOWSKI (1905-2001)

André Gide, 1955

Mine de plomb sur papier

100 x 71 cm

39 3/8 x 27 7/8 in.

Cette oeuvre est répertoriée sur le site officiel de l'artiste : www.pierre-klossowski.fr


PROVENANCE

Oreste Del Buono, Milan Diverses provenancesCollection privée, Italie


EXPOSITIONS

1955, 29 juin, Paris, Cour de Rohan, Pierre Klossowski 1968, 6 juillet-1er août, Genève, Aurora galerie d'art moderne, OEuvres de Pierre Klossowski et Roman Cieslewicz 1981, 20 juin-2 août, Bern, Kunsthalle, Pierre Klossowki, Simulacra, n° 7, repr. 1990, 3 octobre-2 décembre, Paris, Fondation National des Arts Graphiques et Plastiques ; 14 décembre-27 janvier 1991, Marseille, Musée Cantini ; 5 mars- 8 mai, Madrid, Centro de Arte Reina Sofia ; 10 juillet-12 septembre, Valence, IVAM, La Sala parpallo ; 7 octobre- 9 décembre, Bristol, Arnolfini Gallery, Pierre Klossowki / Rétrospective 1950-1990, in cat exp., repr. p. 63 & 204 2006, 20 septembre-19 novembre, Londres, Whitechapel Gallery ; 21 décembre-18 mars 2007, Cologne, Museum Lduwig ; 4 avril-4 juin 2007, Paris, Centre Pompidou, Pierre Klossowski, Tableaux vivants, in cat exp., cat 5, repr.


BIBLIOGRAPHIE

Jacques Henric, Pierre Klossowski, Adam Biro, Paris, 1989, repr. p.83 & p.139

Maurice Blanchot, Pierre Klossowki, La décadence du Nu, Black Dog Publishing Limited, Londres, 2002, repr. p. 43


Pierre Klossowski

Artiste et auteur inclassable, Pierre Klossowski (1905-2001) a produit une oeuvre double entre littérature et dessin. Né à Paris en 1905 dans une famille d'artiste, ses deux parents peignent. Sa mère est une élève de Bonnard et son frère est le peintre Balthus. Klossowski dessine très tôt et grandit au contact des néo-impressionnistes. Il reçoit fréquemment les visites de Derain, Maurice Denis, ainsi que du collectionneur Ambroise Vollard. Il montre dès son enfance un intérêt particulier à la littérature, la philosophie, la théologie et à la psychanalyse. Son attention se porte sur les auteurs écorchés ou sujets à critique, sulfu­reux et controversés. Il écrit de nombreux essais sur Sade et étudie Nietzsche. Son intérêt pour un certain genre de littérature l'amènera en tant qu'artiste à s'affranchir des bonnes moeurs.

C'est le poète Rilke qui recommande Pierre Klossowski à André Gide dont il deviendra l'assistant. André Gide, écrivain résolument moderne renonce bientôt à lui donner cette tâche. L'estimant «trop artiste» il l'inscrira en philosophie. Gide prend dans la vie de Klossowski une place de tuteur et ils auront longtemps une relation épistolaire.

Après plusieurs parutions et apparitions controversées, il des­sine en 1950 ses premières compositions et portraits à la mine de plomb. Les figures sont alors immatérielles, déposées sur du papier jaunis tel de vieux grimoires. Klossowski leur donne progressivement une proportion à taille humaine, désirant que le regardeur soit de plain-pied avec ses sujets. L'effet voulu est un jeu de miroir, induisant un doute qui est fondamental pour l'artiste.

On retrouve dans ses premiers dessins une grâce maniériste du fait de l'élongation des formes. C'est dans cette veine que s'inscrit le Portrait d'André Gide, où les mains sont allongées pour représenter la qualité d'écrivain du modèle. André Gide est ici en train d'annoter deux livres ouverts au premier plan : l'Énéide et les Bucoliques de Virgile. L'Énéide dont il fut le tra­ducteur en français, le suivra tout le long de sa carrière intellec­tuelle et sera un de ses livres de chevet jusqu'à sa mort. André Gide la plume en l'air, est interrompu dans son travail par un petit joueur de flûte placé derrière lui. La symbolique de cette scène reste un secret pour le grand public, mais une évidence pour les initiés, que ces deux personnages échangent dans un regard lourd de secrets et de sous-entendus.

L'année 1956 marque sa première exposition qui a lieu cour de Rohan, à l'instigation de Bataille, Masson, et Giacometti. Le portrait de de Gide y sera exposé et André Breton dira qu'il est «plus vrai que nature !».

À partir des années 1970, André Gide fréquente les philosophes Gilles Deleuze, Michel Foucault et Jacques Derrida. Il s’inscrit

alors dans la pensée philosophique de son temps qu’on appellera rétrospectivement la French theory. Indifférent aux débats esthétiques prenant place en France dans les années 1960 et 1970 entre abstrait, figuratif et nouvel art informel, il engage une réflexion sur la notion de simulacre.

« Où est la fiction où est le réel ? Qu’est-ce que la fiction, qu’est-ce que le réel ? Il y a osmose entre les deux. »

— Pierre Klossowski lors de son entretien avec Rémy Zaugg, 1980-1981


Son activité de dessin s’enrichit alors qu’il remplace la mine de plomb par le crayon de couleur. Le coloris se fait en transparence, grâce à des rehauts qui conservent l’aspect immatériel de ses oeu

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue