XU WEIXIN (né en 1958)

Lot 16
Got to lot
Estimation :
15000 - 20000 EUR
XU WEIXIN (né en 1958)

Portrait of a woman, 2006

Oil on canvas

120 x 100 cm

47 1/4 x 39 3/8 in.


We thank the artist Mr Xu Weixin for confirming the authenticity of this work.


PROVENANCE

Given by the artist to the present owner

Private collection, Paris


Xu Weixin

Xu Wei Xin is a Chinese painter born in the province of Xinjiang in 1958. His work includes a series of large-scale portraits of ordinary people as a testimony to the victims of the Cultural Revolution from 1966 to 1976. He considers that the large format of his works makes them more accessible and gives them a stronger visual impact, conveying his message more effectively. The transition from collective to individual portraits is a crucial step in his artistic career: beyond the social entity, the community representation, he focuses on the individuality of his model, his psychological dimension.

Xu Wei Xin's work has since been exhibited in many international museums, including the Shanghai Art Museum, the Beijing Museum of Modern Art and the National Art Museum of China.

Xu Wei Xin has chosen to paint miners for two reasons: they are, according to him, excellent subjects of inspiration and artistic creation; but he also made it his duty to pay homage to them, as a sign of respect for what they experienced. The testimony of their difficult living conditions can be seen in the face of this woman, whose eyes are still frightened. Frightened, or perhaps surprised to be the subject of so much attention from the painter, to be used as a model, when she is probably just one of thousands of workers. This is precisely what Xu Wei Xin seeks to do: to highlight ordinary people in order to honour their courage and experience, thereby making them unique through the particularity of their facial expressions and the emotions they exude. The testimony is not only in the eyes, but also in the purely physical features: while the wrinkles and blisters of the miners reveal the hardship of their daily tasks, the skin of this woman still looks smooth, youthful, yet she could be a mother. Despite the purity of her skin, her red garment seems to reflect on the right side of her face, creating the illusion of a burn. The binarity of the hues of the face, almost in chiaroscuro, and the saturation of the colours reinforce the impression of a still living wound.

Whether she is a minor, another worker, or a housewife, she is above all an ordinary person, emblematic of the Chinese working classes of the time. "Xu sheds light on those who are overlooked, focusing on the everyday individuals, giving a voice to those who are otherwise lost to the collective mass.." (Xu sheds light on those who are overlooked, focusing on the everyday individuals, giving a voice to those who are otherwise lost to the collective mass.)

Beyond individual testimonies, Xu Wei Xin aims to engrave History itself in time, for future generations: "I don't think they really know about it, or understand it, or even talk about it. It's important for them to know what their ancestors went through". It's important for them to know what their ancestors went through.)

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

XU WEIXIN (né en 1958)

Lot 16
Aller au lot
Estimation :
15000 - 20000 EUR
XU WEIXIN (né en 1958)

Portrait de femme, 2006

Huile sur toile

120 x 100 cm

47 1/4 x 39 3/8 in.


Nous remercions l'artiste Monsieur Xu Weixin de nous avoir confirmé l'authenticité de cette oeuvre.


PROVENANCE

Offert par l'artiste à l'actuel propriétaire

Collection privée, Paris


Xu Weixin

Xu Wei Xin est un peintre chinois né dans la province de Xin­jiang en 1958. Son oeuvre se compose notamment d'une série de portraits à grande échelle de personnes ordinaires, comme témoignage des victimes de la Révolution Culturelle de 1966 à 1976. Il considère que le grand format de ses oeuvres les rendent plus accessibles et leur donne un impact visuel plus fort, véhiculant plus efficacement son message. Le passage du portrait collectif au portrait individuel est une étape primor­diale dans son parcours artistique : au-delà de l'entité sociale, la représentation communautaire, il s'attache à l'individualité de son modèle, sa dimension psychologique.

Xu Wei Xin a dès lors été exposé dans de nombreux musées internationaux, dont le musée d'Art de Shanghaï, le musée d'Art moderne de Beijing et le musée d'art national de Chine.

À l'image de ce Portrait de Femme, Xu Wei Xin a notamment choisi de peindre des mineurs, pour deux raisons : ce sont, selon lui, d'excellents sujets d'inspiration et de création artistique; mais il s'est aussi donné le devoir de leur rendre hommage, en signe de respect pour ce qu'ils ont vécu. Le témoignage de leurs pénibles conditions de vie se lit sur le visage de cette femme, dont le regard est encore apeuré. Apeuré, ou sans doute étonné de susciter une si grande attention à l'égard du peintre, de servir de modèle, alors qu'elle n'est probablement qu'une ouvrière parmi des milliers d'autres. C'est justement ce que cherche Xu Wei Xin : mettre en lumière des personnes ordinaires pour honorer leur courage et leur vécu, les rendant de ce fait uniques par la particularité de leurs expressions faciales et des émotions qu'ils dégagent. Le témoignage est non seulement dans le regard, mais aussi dans les traits pure­ment physiques : tandis que les rides et les boursouflures des mineurs révèlent la pénibilité de leurs tâches quotidiennes, la peau de cette femme semble encore lisse, juvénile, alors qu'elle pourrait pourtant être mère. Malgré la pureté de sa peau, son vêtement rouge semble se refléter sur la partie droite de son visage, créant l'illusion d'une brûlure. La binarité des teintes du visage, presque en clair-obscur et la saturation des couleurs renforce l'impression de blessure encore vive.

Qu'elle soit mineure, autre ouvrière, ou femme au foyer, c'est avant tout une personne ordinaire, emblématique des classes populaires chinoises de l'époque. «Xu sheds light on those who are overlooked, focusing on the everyday individuals, giving a voice to those who are otherwise lost to the collective mass..” (Xu met en valeur ceux qui ignores, négliogés par la société, donnant une voix à ceux qui sinon seraient confondus à la masse collective).

Au-delà des témoignages individuels, Xu Wei Xin vise à graver l'Histoire elle-même dans le temps, à l'intention des générations futures : «"I don't think they really know about it, or unders­tand it, or even talk about it. It's important for them to know what their ancestors went through” (“Je ne pense pas qu'ils y connaissent grand- chose, qu'ils le comprennent, ou même qu'ils en parlent. C'est important pour eux qu'ils sachent ce que leurs ancêtres ont accompli”.)

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue