GIOVANNI BATTISTA SALVI, DIT SASSOFERRATO
SASSOFERRATO, 1609 -1685, ROME

Lot 45
Aller au lot
Estimation :
80000 - 100000 EUR

GIOVANNI BATTISTA SALVI, DIT SASSOFERRATO
SASSOFERRATO, 1609 -1685, ROME


Virgin in prayer
Oil on canvas 44 x 31 cm
Virgin Oil on canvas, 17.3 x 12.2 in.
This work benefits from a certificate of authenticity issued by the Turquin firm in 2019.
If the painter Giovanni-Battista Salvi owes his nickname Il Sassoferrato to the small town in the province of the Italian Marches where he was born, art lovers will remember the great notoriety of the artist as the painter par excellence of the Madonnas. His production, essentially devoted to religion, includes magnificent representations of the Virgin Mary, which were very successful with religious institutions and major private clients for the finesse of the model's features, the virtuosity of the play of light and the purity of the colours used.
After following the teachings of his father, Torquinio Salvi, Sassoferrato joined the studio of the great painter Domenico Zampieri (known as The Dominiquin, 1581-1641) in Rome; he seems to have also trained with Francesco Albani (1578-1660) and in particular with Guido Reni (1575-1642), who is believed to have been his true mentor. In any case, Sassoferrato's style shows that he adopted from his masters the rigour of the great Italian classics of the Renaissance; unlike his contemporaries such as Pietro de Cortona or Le Bernin, who promoted a triumphant Baroque, Sassoferrato retained the influence of Quattrocento artists such as Perugino, Spagna and above all Raphael, to give his compositions purity of line and a very particular harmony.
Among his great achievements are two altarpieces painted in Rome: the Vision of St. Francis of Paul in the church of the same name in 1641, in 1643, the Virgin of the Rosary, in the church of Santa Sabina; and in 1650, a Virgin and Child, kept in the Vatican. Active in Rome, Urbino and Perugia, the artist concentrated mainly on smaller works that were favoured by the patrician families of Italy and great ecclesiastical dignitaries such as the Pamphili and Barberini; he responded to the
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

GIOVANNI BATTISTA SALVI, DIT SASSOFERRATO
SASSOFERRATO, 1609 -1685, ROME

Lot 45
Aller au lot
Estimation :
80000 - 100000 EUR

GIOVANNI BATTISTA SALVI, DIT SASSOFERRATO
SASSOFERRATO, 1609 -1685, ROME


Vierge en prière
Huile sur toile 44 x 31 cm
Virgin Oil on canvas, 17,3 x 12,2 in.
Cette oeuvre bénéficie d'un certificat d'authenticité délivré par le cabinet Turquin en 2019.
Si le peintre Giovanni-Battista Salvi doit son surnom Il Sassoferrato, à la petite ville de la province des Marches italiennes dont il était originaire, les amateurs d'Art retiendront avant tout la grande notoriété de l'artiste comme le peintre par excellence des Madones. Il ressort en effet de sa production essentiellement vouée à la religion, de magnifiques représentations de la Vierge Marie qui eurent auprès d'institutions religieuses ou de grands commanditaires privés, un vif succès pour la finesse des traits du modèle, la virtuosité des jeux de lumière, et la pureté des couleurs employées.
Après avoir suivi les enseignements de son père, Torquinio Salvi, Sassoferrato rejoignit à Rome l'atelier du grand peintre Domenico Zampieri (dit Le Dominiquin, 1581-1641); il semble avoir été aussi formé auprès de Francesco Albani (1578-1660) et en particulier auprès de Guido Reni (1575-1642) dont on pense qu'il fut son véritable mentor. Quoiqu'il en soit, le style de Sassoferrato montre qu'il adopta de ses maitres la rigueur des grands classiques italiens issus de la Renaissance; contrairement à ses contemporains comme Pietro de Cortona ou Le Bernin qui vont promouvoir un baroque triomphant, Sassoferrato garda l'influence des artistes du Quattrocento, tels Perugin, Spagna et surtout Raphaël, pour rendre à ses composi­tions la pureté des lignes et une harmonie toute particulière.
Parmi ses grandes réalisations, on retiendra deux tableaux d'autel peints à Rome : la Vision de Saint- François de Paul dans l'église du même nom en 1641, en 1643, la Vierge du Rosaire, dans l'église Sainte-Sabine; et en 1650, une Vierge à l'enfant, conservée au Vatican. Actif à Rome, Urbino et Pérouse, l'artiste se concentre principalement sur des oeuvres plus petites qui ont la prédilection des f
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue