Alfa Romeo GIULIETTA SZ CODA TRONCA 1962

Lot 152
Aller au lot
550 000 - 750 000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 670 380 EUR

Alfa Romeo GIULIETTA SZ CODA TRONCA 1962

Documented history since new
Ex-1963 Le Mans 24 Hours, 1964 Targa
Florio, Monza 1000 Km etc…
Fully restored in 2012

English registration papers
Chassis number: AR10126*00197
sold without technical inspection

T he car Alfa Romeo wanted at the beginning of the 1950s, the first version of the Giulietta was presented in 1954 at the Turin Show. Building on the little Alfa’s sales success, several versions of the model were developed and it enjoyed considerable success in competition, thanks in particular to the agreement between the Italian car maker and the coachbuilder Zagato, which led to the development of a version with more aerodynamic styling and a lightweight aluminium body. And so the Giulietta SZ (Sport Zagato) came about, of which scarcely more than 200 cars were built in all. This limited-series model was also produced in SZ Coda Tronca form, a version also known as the SZ2, of which only 30 were built. It is one of these, chassis no. 00197, which is presented here.
This Alfa Romeo Giulietta SZ Coda Tronca was delivered new in Bologna and made its competition debut in the 1000 Kilometres of Paris in 1962, driven by Giampiero Biscaldi and Romolo Rossi and entered by the Scuderia Sant’Ambroeus. For its first race, it finished 16th overall and 4th in its class. It then took part in the 1963 Le Mans 24 Hours race, again with the Scuderia Sant’Ambroeus, but was disqualified after an engine oil refilling stop too early in the race. It had completed only 70 laps. In 1964, now owned by Count Girolamo Capra, it came home 21st in the Targa Florio. Also a member of the Scuderia Sant’Ambroeus, Capra competed the same year in the Nürburgring 1000 Km race, the Mugello GT Grand Prix and the Italian hillclimb championship. For its fourth season in competition, the Giulietta no. 00197 was entered in the final round of the world endurance championship and achieved an excellent 6th place overall in the 1965 1000 Kilometres of Monza. At the end of the season, Count Capra acquired an Alfa Romeo TZ and sold the SZ to Danilo Parnetti, who took part in the Italian hillclimb championship in 1966. As an amusing sidenote, a video from the period shows the car in action, driven by Parnetti and sandwiched between an Abarth OT 1300 and a Ferrari 275 LM
When its sporting career was over, the SZ Coda Tronca entered the superb collection of the Japanese enthusiast Yoshi Hayashi at the beginning of the 1980s, where it rubbed shoulders for several years with a number of other Alfas, including the Giulia Sport Speciale Pininfarina, a TZ and a Sprint Stradale. It then crossed the Pacific some twenty years later to join Bruce Bradburn’s collection, before moving on to Peter Hageman, who entered it at Pebble Beach in 2008. Displayed at Rétromobile in 2010, it was then acquired by another French collector, who took it back on track, competing in a round of the highly exclusive Trofeo Nastro Rosso (Peter Auto) alongside the most authentic Ferrari 250 GT SWB, Maserati 300 S and Ferrari 275 GTBs. A few months later, it returned to the Sarthe for the fifth edition of Le Mans Classic, with the racing number 58. Keen to continue its career in historic motorsport, its new owner had the car restored in England by the specialist Alfaholics, who took care to return the car to its 1963 Le Mans configuration. After it arrived in England in February 2011, the car was completely stripped down and the engine removed in order for it to be completely reconditioned. The windows were scratched, but the all the original perspex parts could be retained after they had been sanded and polished. The car returned to competition in 2014, when it took part in the Tour Auto and then Le Mans Classic. It was at this time that it featured in an article by Mick Walsh in the leading magazine Classic & Sports Car. In 2017, it was acquired by the late Jean Brandenburg, a well-known and much respected amateur racer in historic motorsport. Prepared like all his cars in Yvan Mahé’s workshops, the Giulietta went on to race three times in 2018 with its new owner, at Spa, at Le Mans Classic once again, and finally on the Rallye des Légendes Richard Mille. The centrepiece of Jean Brandenburg’s collection, the car will be sold with a second 1600 cc engine, a spare axle and another gearbox.

 
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

Alfa Romeo GIULIETTA SZ CODA TRONCA 1962

Lot 152
Aller au lot
550 000 - 750 000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 670 380 EUR

Alfa Romeo GIULIETTA SZ CODA TRONCA 1962

Historique suivi depuis l’origine
Ex 24h du Mans 1963, Targa Florio 1964,
1000 Km de Monza, etc…
Intégralement restaurée en 2012

Titre de circulation anglais
Châssis : AR10126*00197
vendue sans contrôle technique

Voulue par Alfa Romeo au début des années 50, la Giulietta sera présentée dans sa version initiale en 1954 au salon de Turin. Fort du succès commercial que remporte la petite Alfa, le modèle sera décliné en plusieurs versions et connaîtra de nombreux succès en compétition notamment grâce à l’accord passé entre le constructeur italien et le carrossier Zagato aboutissant à la conception d’une version au dessin mieux profilé et à la carrosserie allégée en aluminium. Ainsi naîtra la Giulietta SZ (Sport Zagato) dont à peine plus de 200 exemplaires au total seront fabriqués. Cette série limitée sera déclinée dans une version SZ Coda Tronca aussi appelée SZ2, produite à seulement une trentaine d’exemplaires. C’est l’un d’eux, le châssis 00197 que nous vous présentons dans ces pages.
Cette Alfa Romeo Giulietta SZ Coda Tronca fut livrée neuve à Bologne et fit ses premiers tours de roue en compétition aux 1000 Km de Paris 1962, aux mains de Giampiero Biscaldi et Romolo Rossi, engagée par la Scuderia Sant Ambroeus. Pour sa première course, elle terminera 16ème au classement général et 4ème de sa classe. Elle participera ensuite aux 24 heures du Mans en 1963, toujours avec la Scuderia Sant Ambroeus mais se verra disqualifiée à cause d’un ravitaillement en huile trop tôt dans la course. Elle n’aura parcouru que 70 tours. En 1964 alors qu’elle est désormais la propriété du Comte Girolamo Capra, elle se classe 21ème de la Targa Florio. Lui aussi membre de la Scuderia Sant Ambroeus, Capra prendra part cette même année aux 1000 Km du Nürburgring, au Mugello GT Grand Prix, ainsi qu’au championnat d’Italie de course de côte. Pour sa quatrième saison de compétition, la Giulietta 00197 sera engagée à son ultime manche du championnat du monde d’endurance et signera une très belle 6ème place au général des 1000 Km de Monza 1965. En fin de saison le Comte Capra fait l’acquisition d’une Alfa Romeo TZ et vend la SZ à Danilo Parnetti qui prendra part au championnat d’Italie de la montagne pour la saison 1966. Anecdote amusante, une vidéo d’époque l’illustre en action aux mains de Parnetti, intercalée entre le passage d’une Abarth OT 1300 et d’une Ferrari 275 LM.
Sa carrière sportive terminée, cette SZ Coda Tronca rejoindra la superbe collection du japonnais Yoshi Hayashi au début des années 80 où elle côtoie plusieurs années quelques autres consœurs dont la Giulia Sport Speciale Pininfarina, une TZ et une Sprint Stradale. Elle traversera le Pacifique pour rejoindre une vingtaine d’années après la collection de Bruce Bradburn, puis Peter Hageman qui l’inscrira à Pebble Beach en 2008. Exposée à Rétromobile en 2010, elle devient alors la propriété d’un nouveau collectionneur français qui lui fera retrouver le chemin des circuits en participant à une manche du très exclusif plateau Trofeo Nastro Rosso (Peter Auto) regroupant les plus authentiques Ferrari 250 GT SWB, Maserati 300 S et autres Ferrari 275 GTB. Quelques mois plus tard, elle revient dans la Sarthe pour la cinquième édition du Mans Classic portant le n°58. Désireux de poursuivre sa carrière en compétitions historiques, son nouveau propriétaire fera restaurer l’auto en Angleterre chez le spécialiste Alfaholics qui prendra soin de remettre la voiture dans la configuration du Mans en 1963. Arrivée en Angleterre en février 2011, la voiture est alors intégralement mise à nue et la mécanique démontée pour être remise à neuf. Les vitres étaient rayées, mais toutes les pièces d’origine en plexiglas ont été conservées après avoir été sablées et polies. Elle reviendra à la compétition en 2014 avec une participation au Tour Auto puis au Mans Classic. C’est alors qu’elle fait l’objet d’un article de Mick Walsh à l’été 2015 dans l’incontournable Classic & Sports Car. Gentleman Driver connu et reconnu dans le milieu des courses historiques, c’est le regretté Jean Brandenburg qui en fait l’acquisition en 2017. Préparée comme toutes ses autos dans les ateliers d’Yvan Mahé, la Giulietta roulera en 2018 à trois reprises en compétition avec son nouveau propriétaire, à Spa, une nouvelle fois au Mans Classic et enfin au Rallye des Légendes Richard Mille. Pièce Maîtresse de la Collection Jean Brandenburg, cet exemplaire est vendu avec un deuxième moteur 1600 cm3, un deuxième pont et une deuxième boîte de vitesse.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue